14 October 2016

Count down to MAMAS - Who is getting the kiss?

As we start the final MTV Africa Music Awards countdown, we thought we should remind you of what went down last year.
The MAMAS were held in Durban last year to celebrate contemporary music all across Africa. The event brought us a lot of electrifying performances, collaborations and corny awards presentations. This year promises to be bigger hosted in the heart of entertainment, Johannesburg.
Let’s take a trip down MAMAS lane, shall we?
2015 - Boity publically shoved AKA's embrace aside after announcing that he had won the Best Collabo award. At that time she was dating Cassper Nyovest but seeing as they've broken up, we're not expecting any of that.
What seems to be a MAMAS tradition, is celebrity smooches. We don’t know why but we’re not complaining.
2014 - Cassper and actress Amandu du Pont shared a kiss on stage leaving fans speculating about their relationship.
2015 - Cassper shared a kiss with another SA bombshell, Boity. Should we start guessing who will he kiss this year?
2015 - But who could forget that D'banj and Bonang kiss? Looks like AKA might be the lucky one this year.
Winner of last year's Personality Of The Year award, Trevor Noah is coming back home to hold it down as a host.
With all that took place last year, we cannot wait! Recap on the full 2016 nominees list:
Best Male
AKA (South Africa)
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Best Live
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)
Best Group
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Navy Kenzo (Tanzania)
R2bees (Ghana)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Toofan (Togo)
Best Collaboration in partnership with Absolut
AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana & Yanga – "Baddest" (South Africa/Nigeria)
DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid & DJ Bucks - "Soweto Baby" ((South Africa/Nigeria) 
Nasty C feat. Davido, Cassper - "Juice Back Remix" (Nigeria/South Africa) 
Patoranking feat. Sarkodie – "No Kissing" (Nigeria/Ghana) 
Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba - "Unconditionally Bae" (Kenya/Tanzania) 
Best Hip Hop in association with MTN
Emtee (South Africa)
Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Riky Rick (South Africa)  
Ycee (Nigeria)
Best Pop/Alternative
Desmond & The Tutus (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Shekinah (South Africa) / Kyle Deutsch (South Africa)
Timo ODV (South Africa)
Tresor (DRC)
Best Lusophone
C4 Pedro (Angola)
NGA (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Netherlands/Cape Verde)
Preto Show (Angola)
Personality of the Year in association with DStv
Caster Semenya (South Africa)
Linda Ikeji (Nigeria)
Pearl Thusi (South Africa)
Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Best International
Adele (UK)
Beyoncé (USA)
Drake (Canada)
Future (USA)
Rihanna (Barbados)

Artist of The Year
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Best Female
Josey (Ivory Coast) 
Mz Vee (Ghana) 
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) 
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania) 
Yemi Alade (Nigeria) 
Best Breakthrough
Babes Wodumo (South Africa)
Emtee (South Africa)
Falz (Nigeria)
Franko (Cameroon)
Nasty C (South Africa)
Nathi (South Africa)
Raymond (Tanzania)
Simi (Nigeria)
Tekno (Nigeria)
Best Francophone
Franko (Cameroon)
J-Rio (Gabon)
Magasco (Cameroon)
Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)
Listener's Choice
Adiouza (Senegal)
Bebe Cool (Uganda)
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Den G (Liberia)
EL (Ghana)
Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
Jay Rox (Zambia)
Kansoul (Kenya)
Kiss Daniel (Nigeria)
Lij Michael (Ethiopia)
LXG (Sierra Leone)
Meddy (Rwanda)
Messias Marioca (Mozambique)
Prince Kaybee (South Africa)
Reda Taliani (Algeria)
Saad Lamjarred (Morocco)
Sabri Mosbah (Tunisia)
Sidiki Diabate (Mali)
Tamer Hosny (Egypt)
The Dogg (Namibia)
Yamoto Band (Tanzania)
Song Of The Year in Partnership With GOOGLE
"Shaktibobo" – Olamide (Nigeria)
"Reggae Blues" - Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria)
"My Woman, My Everything" – Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)
"Godwin" – Korede Bello (Nigeria)
"Ngud" – Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa)
"Roll Up Re-Up" – Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria)
"Soweto Baby" – DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria)
"Baddest" – AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga  (South Africa/Nigeria)
"Wololo" - Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa)
"Coller la Petite" – Franko (Cameroon)
"Unconditionally bae" - Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania)
Video Of The Year
"Jump" - Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C (South Africa); Director: Kyle Lewis
"Caviar Dreams" - AL Bairre & PhFAT (South Africa); Director: Daniel Levi
"If I Start to Talk" - Tiwa Savage feat. Dr Sid (South Africa); Director: Clarence Peters
"Kisasi Kumi" - Sheeba (Uganda) - Director: Sasha Vybz
"Niquer Ma Vie" - Youssoupha (Congo) - Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon
Tickets for the MTV Africa Music Awards Johannesburg 2016 are on sale now priced from ZAR 250 (standing only) via www.ticketpros.co.za, at Ticketpro retail outlets or dealers atwww.mtvbase.com.  Over 18s only.
Thulile Gama