03 October 2016

List of the other MAMA nominees

Viacom International Media Networks Africa and MTV Base revealed the final round of nominations for the forthcoming MTV Africa Music Awards Johannesburg 2016 (MAMA) at the Hard Rock Café, Lagos, Nigeria during the Road to MAMA – Lagos 2016 (2 October 2016). 
The 2016 MAMA's, taking place at the Ticketpro Dome, Johannesburg on 22 October 2016 setting the pace in the prestigious Artist of the Year category are Nigerian artists Wizkid and Yemi Alade, who go head to head against South Africa's Black Coffee, Kenyan group Sauti Sol and Tanzanian artist Diamond.
The year's most unforgettable songs are highlighted in Song of the Year in partnership with Google, where "Shaktibobo" by Olamide (Nigeria) squares up against "Reggae Blues" by Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria), "My Woman, My Everything" by Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria), "Godwin" – Korede Bello (Nigeria), "Ngud" – Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa), "Roll Up Re-Up" – Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria), "Soweto Baby" by DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria), "Baddest" – AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga  (South Africa/Nigeria), "Wololo" - Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa), "Coller la Petite" - Franko (Cameroon) and "Unconditionally bae" - Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania).
Contenders for the Best Video category include former MAMA honouree Clarence Peters, who scored a nod for Tiwa Savage's "If I Start to Talk", which goes up against the Kyle Lewis directed "Jump" (Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C), Daniel Levi's "Caviar Dreams" for AL Bairre & PhFAT, "Kisasi Kumi" directed by Sasha Vybz on behalf of Sheeba,  and Congolese artist Youssoupha's "Niquer Ma Vie", directed jointly by Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon.
Nigeria's Tiwa Savage notched up a second nomination in the Best Female category where she faces strong opposition from fellow countrywoman Yemi Alade, Josey (Ivory Coast), Mz Vee (Ghana) and Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania).
Representing the artistry of Africa's French-speaking nations, Franko (Cameroon) finds himself pitted against fellow countryman Magasco, in Best Francophone alongside J-Rio of Gabon, Ivory Coast's Serge Beynaud and Togolese duo Toofan.
Voting for MAMA 2016 is underway at www.mtvbase.com and affiliated Twitter, Facebook and Instagram accounts. Additionally, fans can vote for Best Breakthrough, Song of the Year, Best Group, and Best International Act by simply searching for "MTV MAMA" on Google.  Voting in all categories closes at 22:59 WAT/23.59 CAT on 19 October 2016.
Guests at the MAMA 2016 nominations party were entertained with sizzling performances by MAMA nominees Patoranking, Ycee, Nasty C and Simi, alongside rising stars Skales, Runtown and Koker.  DJs Xclusive, Humility, Kaywise, Hazan and TTB kept the dance-floor packed to capacity. The event was attended by a host of artists, celebrities and other glitterati, while MTV Base VJ Ehiz and Uchi Agbai shared the hosting duties.
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Josey (Ivory Coast) 
Mz Vee (Ghana) 
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) 
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania) 
Yemi Alade (Nigeria) 
Babes Wodumo (South Africa)
Emtee (South Africa)
Falz (Nigeria)
Franko (Cameroon)
Nasty C (South Africa)
Nathi (South Africa)
Raymond (Tanzania)
Simi (Nigeria)
Tekno (Nigeria)
Franko (Cameroon)
J-Rio (Gabon)
Magasco (Cameroon)
Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)
Adiouza (Senegal)
Bebe Cool (Uganda)
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Den G (Liberia)
EL (Ghana)
Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)
Jay Rox (Zambia)
Kansoul (Kenya)
Kiss Daniel (Nigeria)
Lij Michael (Ethiopia)
LXG (Sierra Leone)
Meddy (Rwanda)
Messias Marioca (Mozambique)
Prince Kaybee (South Africa)
Reda Taliani (Algeria)
Saad Lamjarred (Morocco)
Sabri Mosbah (Tunisia)
Sidiki Diabate (Mali)
Tamer Hosny (Egypt)
The Dogg (Namibia)
Yamoto Band (Tanzania)
"Shaktibobo" – Olamide (Nigeria)
"Reggae Blues" - Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria)
"My Woman, My Everything" – Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)
"Godwin" – Korede Bello (Nigeria)
"Ngud" – Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa)
"Roll Up Re-Up" – Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria)
"Soweto Baby" – DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria)
"Baddest" – AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga  (South Africa/Nigeria)
"Wololo" - Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa)
"Coller la Petite" – Franko (Cameroon)
"Unconditionally bae" - Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania)
"Jump" - Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C (South Africa); Director: Kyle Lewis
"Caviar Dreams" - AL Bairre & PhFAT (South Africa); Director: Daniel Levi
"If I Start to Talk" - Tiwa Savage feat. Dr Sid (South Africa); Director: Clarence Peters
"Kisasi Kumi" - Sheeba (Uganda) - Director: Sasha Vybz
"Niquer Ma Vie" - Youssoupha (Congo) - Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon
Tickets for the MTV Africa Music Awards Johannesburg 2016 are on sale now priced from ZAR 250 (standing only) via www.ticketpros.co.za, at Ticketpro retail outlets or dealers at www.mtvbase.com.  Over 18s only.